Graduated license rules change for young drivers
On Monday, young drivers were confronted with changes to state law regarding junior licenses under New York’s Graduated License Law.
According to Livingston County Clerk James Culbertson, the changes – intended to protect younger drivers – are pertinent to junior permit holders that had scheduled their skills test for on or after Feb. 22.
Some of the forthcoming changes will that will directly affect younger drivers include:
• All junior permit holders will be required to hold their permit for six months prior to earning a junior license, except those who are 17-years-old and already completed a “Student’s Certificate.”
This time period does not include any time the permit holder spent either suspended or revoked;
• Junior permit holders must have at least 50 hours of supervised driving including 15 hours after sunset and may not drive a vehicle containing more than one non- immediate family passenger under the age of 21;
• Junior license holders may not drive a vehicle containing more than one non- immediate family passenger under the age of 21 unless accompanied by a supervising driver;
• Individuals issued a limited use license before February 22, 2010 will continue to hold a limited use license and be subject to these restrictions until the ending date has been reached; and
The new law does not allow any new limited use licenses to be issued after Feb. 22.
“Studies have confirmed that younger, inexperienced drivers are especially at-risk when they have three or more young passengers riding with them. These modifications to New York’s Graduated Licensing Law are designed to make our roadways safer and help save lives. Parents should be aware of these upcoming changes and discuss them with their teenage children,” Culbertson said.
For more details on these upcoming changes, contact the Livingston County Clerk’s Office at (585) 243-7010.